Our products team is discussing your suggestion and I will let you know when we have an estimated time of release. Thank you and please let me know if you have any further questions or suggestions!
We also would really like this feature. Because of timing delays in the local cloud, sometimes the users complete multiple clicks when selecting a folder or file. Windows interprets this as a "move" command. Then we have to go back into Egnyte and move the folder back. When it is a folder directly under the Shared folder, all the permissions are reset.
This is the first time that we have heard of that particular issue (Windows interprets clicks as move command). We are going to investigate, but your interest in the folder lock feature is noted.
Thanks for your business,
For my clients the primary reason for this issue is accidental folder moves by users on PLC mainly. A user accidentally moves the folder and then back again and it sends all other PLC connected users systems into a full day of updating, etc.
When we do this on a standard file system it is not an issue, but with the inherent latency of PLC it can be a giant mess.
I have seen this many times, and adding this capability would be very valuable.
Would it be possible for you to give your users the "Editor" permission for those folders? They would be able to edit the files contained in the folder without moving, deleting, or editing the list of people able to access the folder. This helpdesk article gives you more information on the subject.
Egnyte transforms business through smarter content allowing organizations to connect, protect, and unlock value from all their content.
© Egnyte, Inc. All Rights Reserved
If you can't find what you're looking for, contact Egnyte Customer Support.