cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Make Version History configurable per role

Highlighted
Vigilante

Make Version History configurable per role

Is it possible to disable version history for types of users - EG Standard Users would not have option to use Version History?

Labels (2)
Tags (1)
0 Kudos
3 Replies
Highlighted
Retired Employee
Retired Employee

Re: Make Version History configurable per role

Hello @Michael Rea1,

The file versioning feature can be enabled/disabled for the entire domain. Unfortunately this cannot be controlled for specific users. It is either applicable for all users or not applicable for all the domain users.

Is there any special use case where in you want to restrict the users from seeing the file versions history ?

Thank you.

PS. Help others find answers by selecting "Accept as Solution" if a post answers your question."
0 Kudos
Highlighted
Vigilante

Re: Make Version History configurable per role

Hi Sagar

We have a project that invovles both internal and external resources, with internal leads being the file content owners/managers. Potential risk was highlighted where an external resource could revert a shared file to an older version (eg some Excel project management tracker) and if the internal resource missed the event then the tracker would be out of date.

When testing, I did not that when a file is reverted to a previous version, the "last modified date" was the CURRENT date/time, not the "last modified date/time" of the reverted file itself. Perhaps something visual in the file list pane that indicates that a file has been reverted could be a quicker win to meet the scenario?

Thanks for responding

Michael

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Retired Employee
Retired Employee

Re: Make Version History configurable per role

@Michael Rea1,

I completely understand your point and will make sure that it reaches the right set of eyes for consideration.

One thing I noticed, which may help is that when an older version is made the current version of a file, in the Activity bar (right side on the UI) will show 2 actions for the file in quick successions. One will say uploaded (filename) & the subsequent will say deleted (same file name). Although this is not exactly what you wanted, but just thought it might be helpful in some manner. 

Thanks.

PS. Help others find answers by selecting "Accept as Solution" if a post answers your question."
0 Kudos