Did you mean: 

New to Egnyte

Highlighted
JeffShef
Vigilante

New to Egnyte

Jump to solution

Hello All,

I'm that guy.  I'm rather new to Egnyte.  I've been using the Office version for my own business for about 6 months and so far so good.

I'm an MSP looking to move a client’s cloud files from something called "ShareSync (Intermedia)" to Egnyte Business with Admin option and Storage Sync (VM)

The client is an engineering firm with about 50 employees.  Of the 50, 35 of them spend a significant amount of time in the field.  When in the field, they often do not have access to internet until the end of the day.  So they make sure they have local copies of files they need for the projects they are working on that day or week.

Their total data store is about 3.5TB and is approximately 1 million files.

Currently we have many issues with "conflicted" copies of files on the workstations and numerous other sync issues.

In contemplating this move to Egnyte we have many questions.

1. We are considering using Egnyte Pro Serivces to help with the migration.  Any experiences good or bad in working with Pro services?
  2. If we do not use Pro Services, my research has pointed me in the direction of using SyncBackPro as a migration tool from the network file server to the StorageSync share.  Any Pitfalls or gotcha's in this method?  
  3. Has anyone used Pro Services for "Mass Deployment" of the Windows clients to the users?  Was it good or bad?
  4. File/folder lengths and illegal characters are a big concern, any good ways to pre-scanning to remediate this ahead of the migration?
  5. It great that there is an "ideas" page on the website but it looks like the dev cycle is painfully long.  Was looking at one idea that was accepted in 2011 and rolled out in 2018.  Is that normal?
  6. Lastly, any general advice from those that have gone on before me?

I'll stop there.  I appreciate anyone who took the time to read my saga.

Thank you,

Jeff Sheffer

Labels (2)
0 Kudos