cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Read-only access via Desktop Sync

Brett Davis
Resident

Read-only access via Desktop Sync

Jump to solution

We have recurring issues with Desktop Sync where users fail to wait for local files in Desktop Sync to be synced with the cloud before shutting down, or start working on a file before waiting for the latest file to be synced locally. This results in overwriting of work without ever filing a version on Engyte. Is it possible to set Desktop Sync to read-only access or is there a workaround?

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Retired Employee Sagar
Retired Employee

Re: Read-only access via Desktop Sync

Jump to solution

Hi Brett,

Ideally for such scenarios the real-time sync on the Desktop Sync is the best way out.

As such there is no way for the application to be made read-only. However, if the users are only going to be reading those files, then you can change their permissions to viewer (read-only). But that would probably not serve the purpose coz this permission setting will stop the users from updating the files.

A work around would be adding steps to their daily work routine. They can update the file and upload that copy to the same location on the web portal thus creating a new version. Or else they can make it a practice to sync the app manually before their end of day to ensure that the updated files have synced to the web portal.

Regards
Sagar.

PS. Help others find answers by selecting "Accept as Solution" if a post answers your question."
0 Kudos
1 Reply
Retired Employee Sagar
Retired Employee

Re: Read-only access via Desktop Sync

Jump to solution

Hi Brett,

Ideally for such scenarios the real-time sync on the Desktop Sync is the best way out.

As such there is no way for the application to be made read-only. However, if the users are only going to be reading those files, then you can change their permissions to viewer (read-only). But that would probably not serve the purpose coz this permission setting will stop the users from updating the files.

A work around would be adding steps to their daily work routine. They can update the file and upload that copy to the same location on the web portal thus creating a new version. Or else they can make it a practice to sync the app manually before their end of day to ensure that the updated files have synced to the web portal.

Regards
Sagar.

PS. Help others find answers by selecting "Accept as Solution" if a post answers your question."
0 Kudos