cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Restrict users from making changes to Desktop Sync Config

Charlie Sciuto
Resident

Restrict users from making changes to Desktop Sync Config

Jump to solution

We are looking to rollout Folder Redirection policies and integrate Desktop Sync. We will set up each Desktop Sync to only sync the user's Private folder and then use a GPO to redirect Desktop, Documents, etc to that local location on their machine. But, we want to make it so the user cannot make changes to their Desktop Sync config, but only admins. Is this possible?

Labels (2)
0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Retired Employee Sagar
Retired Employee

Re: Restrict users from making changes to Desktop Sync Config

Jump to solution

Hi Charlie,

Using Desktop Sync is one of the privileges that the power users are given. The admin can stop the usage of the Desktop Sync for all the power users at once. It cannot be stopped on user level. 

Also since these applications are meant for use to power users and admins, you cannot stop the users from changing the configuration of the Desktop Sync application. If you wish to control the sync configuration, then you can deploy a Storage Sync application. The data is stored at a central location and the configuration is only controlled by the administrator who has access to the setup. 

Here is more information on the Storage Sync: - https://helpdesk.egnyte.com/hc/en-us/categories/203160308 

Regards

Sagar

PS. Help others find answers by selecting "Accept as Solution" if a post answers your question."

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
1 Reply
Retired Employee Sagar
Retired Employee

Re: Restrict users from making changes to Desktop Sync Config

Jump to solution

Hi Charlie,

Using Desktop Sync is one of the privileges that the power users are given. The admin can stop the usage of the Desktop Sync for all the power users at once. It cannot be stopped on user level. 

Also since these applications are meant for use to power users and admins, you cannot stop the users from changing the configuration of the Desktop Sync application. If you wish to control the sync configuration, then you can deploy a Storage Sync application. The data is stored at a central location and the configuration is only controlled by the administrator who has access to the setup. 

Here is more information on the Storage Sync: - https://helpdesk.egnyte.com/hc/en-us/categories/203160308 

Regards

Sagar

PS. Help others find answers by selecting "Accept as Solution" if a post answers your question."

View solution in original post

0 Kudos