cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Versions Removed when saving a Tableau Workbook

Highlighted
D-Donks
Vigilante

Versions Removed when saving a Tableau Workbook

I have been accessing a Tableau Workbook through my Windows Explorer Egnyte domain. Every time I save, Egnyte creates a temporary file and deletes all other versions of my workbook. Has anyone had any issues versioning Tableau workbooks? 

0 Kudos
1 Reply
Moderator Nars_Support
Moderator

Re: Versions Removed when saving a Tableau Workbook

Hi @D-Donks 

It sounds like our [Version Pruning] algorithm is kicking in for this particular scenario. Basically, file versions that were saved/uploaded within 10 minutes from the same exact source or client will automatically be pruned, keeping only the most recent version on the WebUI.

Please perform the following test to confirm:

[Reproduction Steps]

1. Create a new Tableau Workbook, and manually save the file.

2. Add one or two changes, then repeatedly save the file after every change within a 10-minute time span

3. Wait 5-6 hours to verify if the file version count automatically gets pruned to 1


[Verification Steps]

1. Create a new Tableau Workbook, and manually save the file.

2. Wait 10-11 minutes, add one or two changes, then save the file

3. Repeat Step 2 at least two more times

4. Wait 5-6 hours to verify if the file version count automatically remains intact


Regards,
Nars


Tags (1)
0 Kudos