cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

macOS (Desktop App 3.4.2) Drag and Drop Folder Copy Fails to Complete.

Joe11
Deputy

macOS (Desktop App 3.4.2) Drag and Drop Folder Copy Fails to Complete.

Jump to solution

Here's a problem that has been reported to Egnyte Support back in July 2019. Our office uses Mac's and we are used to copying files by dragging a folder from one volume to another. Our data is on the Egnyte Server and when we try and copy the data from the Egnyte Desktop drive (appearing on the Mac Desktop), using the Drag and Drop approach, the copy ends up failing after about an hour or so. There is no pattern to the time or number of files or any particular file. The copy fails with an error message saying "The Operation can not be completed as you don't have permission to access some of the items." This could be a bogus error message, I am an administrator, so I have access to everything. When I repeat the process, the error will occur at a different spot. There does not appear to be a pattern. If I break the drag and drop copy process up, using smaller amounts of folders, then I can succeed. Now I have to babysit the process in order to get a complete backup of my data. Has anyone else run into this problem?

I have posted a short video on youtube showing the problem. Here's the link: 

https://youtu.be/MvtBNN-PJJg

If I find a solution or get a solution, I'll add to my post.

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Joe11
Deputy

Re: macOS (Desktop App 3.4.2) Drag and Drop Folder Copy Fails to Complete.

Jump to solution

I have been able to complete further testing on this issue. I have found the drag and drop copy fails while  being at the office. It does not matter what Mac I use, the copy fails. I am copying a folder containing about 25 gigs of data nested in multiple folders. For my test, I copied this folder to my local boot hard drive. (No USB invloved). The copy fails to complete.