cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Alert when connected to a metered connection

Alert when connected to a metered connection

Has Egnyte considered a feature to allow for a user to temporarily disable file synchronization when they are connected to a metered network connection (such as a mobile hot spot or aircard), similar to the feature Microsoft Outlook has? (see attached screen shot) Or is there some other way to temporarily disable synchronization?
This would help prevent a user from using all their data plan unexpectedly.

Tags (1)
4 Comments
Mark Sterne
Resident

If that is not possible, perhaps we could provide specific networks that should or should not auto-sync. This would help save our limited cell-phone data allotment.

Retired Employee Sagar
Retired Employee

Hi Randal,

This looks interesting, however, I am not sure what technical aspects would have to be factored to make this to work. 

Having said that, there does exist an easy way for the user to stop the sync and save the data on their plan. They simply have to quit the application from the systray. However, this will need manual effort. The user has to ensure that he/she quits the app as soon as he/she gets into a zone which does not have a normal DSL, Cable or other Broadband Internet Service. 

However, this will need a manual effort. The user has to ensure that he/she quits the app as soon as he/she gets into a zone which does not have a normal DSL, Cable or other Broadband Internet Service and they connect via a mobile hotspot or the air card.

I will pass on your feedback to our Product Team for sure. 

Thanks

Sagar

Retired Employee JulieMullins
Retired Employee
Status changed to: New
 
Employee Tri Hoang
Employee
Status changed to: Considering

For Desktop Sync, users can always choose "stop sync" to temporarily disable file synchronization. They can always "resume sync" later.

For Desktop App, files and folders aren't synchronized by default so they will not use any data from users' metered plan by default. If users select some folders to sync for offline access then there is no way to temporarily disable sync on those folders. Users can temporarily switch off the metered network and offline folders will still be accessible.

As you can see, we currently trust users to take appropriate actions to save their data usage based on which network connection they are on. We can definitely consider adding the ability to sync only on certain whitelisted connections or automatically go offline if metered network is detected.