cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Let end-users know why their deleted files are reappearing

Let end-users know why their deleted files are reappearing

When non-Admins or users without "delete" permissions delete a file in a folder, that file reappears without alerting them as to why it is reappearing, which can be frustrating to the user.

When this happens, provide a notification to that user that the file cannot be deleted due to permissions and let them know they can discuss permissions with their Admin or explain how they can see who has delete permissions.

4 Comments
Community Manager GregNeustaetter
Community Manager
Status changed to: Needs Info

@JulieM - can you give more details on where you're seeing this? is it with one of our desktop applications?

JulieM
Deputy

In the WebUI. If I go into a folder, select a file, and select "Delete," that file will soon reappear in that same folder. I believe the same occurs when trying to move a file or folder. It depends on the permissions in that folder as to whether or not the file reappears when I try to delete it.

Community Manager GregNeustaetter
Community Manager

I think you'll need to reach out to our support team since the behavior you mention is not expected.  The Web UI won't allow users to delete files / folders if their permissions don't allow it.  We'd want to look at specific examples to see how the file was re-uploaded.

I am not sure if I need to submit a new request or if I can piggy back onto this request.

I am looking for this feature, but would like to have this displayed for my users in the Egnyte Connect Desktop App (specifically happening in Mac Version 3.3.2, but assume this would also apply on the Windows Version as well). Someone who has Full or Owner access appears to be able to delete a locked file from the Desktop App. The file appears to be deleted because it temporarily disappears, however, it reappears a few seconds later. I would like to request having a pop-up message appear letting the user know that the file is locked and can't be deleted when they attempt to delete a locked file from the Desktop App.

This is the use case at my company. The employee has "Full" Permission access to a folder. Below are the steps they take from the Desktop App: 

1. Right-click on the file, and select Move to Trash

2. The pop-up window appears asking them if they are sure they want to delete the file. 

3. They click Delete

4. From the Finder window, the file appears to be deleted. However, seconds later (I timed it and it took around 20 seconds), the file re-appears. 

This has caused a big issue at my company where employees who are able to delete files are thinking they are deleting the files, and they close out of the Finder window. But when they go back into that folder in Egnyte, the file is still there, which is causing a lot of confusion. It would be very helpful if a pop-up appears saying you can't delete this file becuase it is locked, so the user would know they have to go into the Web UI to see who has the file locked.