cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Connected Folders explained, and the top 5 reasons your users need them

Retired Employee JulieMullins
Retired Employee
1 0 2,040

Connected Folders_Option1 (1).png 

Connected Folders Explained, and the top 5 reasons your users need them.

Tim Johnson, Product Marketing Director

 

Egnyte has always supported the ability to sync an online folder to a user’s desktop. Among other benefits, doing this provides increased performance when working with large files, and allows access to files when offline.

A Connected folder works in reverse. It’s a folder within a user’s existing file structure that is automatically synced to the Egnyte Cloud. You determine which folders are “Connected” (often Desktop, Downloads, and Documents folders), and you determine where in Egnyte they are synced to, but it’s typically the user’s private folder.

Before going any further, I want to emphasize that there are absolutely no changes made to the user’s existing file structure and users don’t have to do anything different once a folder is designated as a Connected folder. They just work as normal and the folders are automatically synced to Egnyte.

So, let’s look at why you want your users to have this

  1. Someone steals their laptop. We’ve all known people who had their laptop stolen. It’s never a good situation, but it’s a lot less painful when all of the user’s important files are still accessible. The first step is for you (or the user if you permit) to remotely wipe the content that’s synced to the laptop. Then, just load the desktop app on the new laptop and sync the files from the cloud back to the new laptop.
  2. They accidentally spill something on your laptop. Maybe someone bumped their shaky standup desk, maybe they’re just clumsy, or maybe they “accidentally” spilled water on it after seeing their neighbor with a faster model. In all cases, it causes headaches for you, but Connected folders makes the situation more manageable.
  3. They accidentally permanently delete a file. We all know people that actually use their Trash/Recycle Bin folder as part of their “file management strategy” - kinda like a parking lot for files they aren’t sure if they want to keep it or not. The scary part of that approach is that it only takes a right click to clear out the trash, and all of those files are gone for good. Since each user has their own Trash folder in Egnyte, it’s quite possible that the file in question is still accessible. Maybe you don’t want to broadcast this as a supported feature, but it could help you look like a hero if the situation arises.
  4. They need to access a downloaded file from their mobile device. Let’s say one of your users is out of the office and they want to share a file with a colleague. The problem is that the file is still in the Downloads folder. Fortunately, by making the Downloads folder a Connected folder, the can just launch the mobile app, navigate to their corresponding Downloads folder on Egnyte, and share the file. See, no problem at all.
  5. They want to share a file that’s saved to the desktop. Since the Desktop folder is already synced to the Egnyte cloud (assuming you want it that way) the files stored there can be shared immediately without the user having to manually upload it first. This means users have to spend less time thinking about technology, and more time doing what they get paid to do.

Bonus Reason…

Your users don’t bother backing up their data. Ok, 1-3 are examples of this, and a Connected folder isn’t really a true backup solution, which involves a one-way sync. However, it’s still way better than doing nothing. In fact, with up to unlimited file versioning, trash retention policies, and end-to-end security, it covers the important bases for most situations.

Want to learn more? Click here to read the help desk article.

Tags (1)