cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Does deactivated person still have access to Egnyte ?

Adrianad
Vigilante

Does deactivated person still have access to Egnyte ?

Jump to solution

We need to delete or deactivate an administrator and I need to understand if deactivating them still gives them access to the files they created or not.  We do not want them to have access to these files as this person has left the company. 

My question is - Can we deactivate them so we still have access to the files they created but prevent them from having access to all those same files and the other group files?  Or, do we have to delete them for this to happen?

Labels (2)
0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Retired Employee Sagar
Retired Employee

Re: Does deactivated person still have access to Egnyte ?

Jump to solution

Hello @Adriana,

Thank you for writing to us.

De-activiating a user will completely stop the ability of that user to access Egnyte. This is true for all acess points. Only exception is if the administrator has a Desktop Sync app installed on his machine. If it does, then there are chances the admin has synced some or all folders from your Egnyte down to his machine. 

Deleting the user will not affect any of the files under Shared folder. The only data that will be affected if the admin user is deleted would be the one from the admin's Private folder. 

So what you can do is, move the data from within the Private folder to some place else. Once done, you can not only de-activate the admin, but also delete the admin account. 

Feel free to write back if you have more questions about this. 

Thanks.

PS. Help others find answers by selecting "Accept as Solution" if a post answers your question."
2 Replies
Retired Employee Sagar
Retired Employee

Re: Does deactivated person still have access to Egnyte ?

Jump to solution

Hello @Adriana,

Thank you for writing to us.

De-activiating a user will completely stop the ability of that user to access Egnyte. This is true for all acess points. Only exception is if the administrator has a Desktop Sync app installed on his machine. If it does, then there are chances the admin has synced some or all folders from your Egnyte down to his machine. 

Deleting the user will not affect any of the files under Shared folder. The only data that will be affected if the admin user is deleted would be the one from the admin's Private folder. 

So what you can do is, move the data from within the Private folder to some place else. Once done, you can not only de-activate the admin, but also delete the admin account. 

Feel free to write back if you have more questions about this. 

Thanks.

PS. Help others find answers by selecting "Accept as Solution" if a post answers your question."
Highlighted
Adrianad
Vigilante

Re: Does deactivated person still have access to Egnyte ?

Jump to solution

Thanks for your help!  That answered my question.

0 Kudos